top of page

Awards Night rounds off a fantastic season

The Milton Keynes Softball League raised a glass to another fine season and several awards were handed out to the top players in the League. There were guests from all four Milton Keynes teams and representatives from the Towcester Tigers after their successful third place finish this season.

The evening took place at Emerson Valley Sports Pavilion with tables decorated with softball gloves, balls and flags. The guests filed in looking very smart indeed, none more so than Craig Holmes in a dapper burgundy jacket – a far cry from last Sunday when he was smeared head to toe in Cotswold mud.

As the guests settled down for dinner, Secretary Leah Holmes and Chairman Hedley Bevan welcomed the guests and reminded everyone about the great season we have had, and thanked all those that have made it such good fun.

It certainly was a season to remember as the Homerun Hornets retained their title and Chris Flynn even found new fame via the MK Citizen. Let’s see the photo again for comedy value.


The first awards presented were the homerun kings and queens. Jon Reynolds (Rhinos) won the male title with Chloe Love (Rhinos), Katie O’Toole (Lakers) and Leah Holmes (Rhinos) sharing the female award.

Chris Flynn, having laughed off the Citizen photo over dinner, was then called to the stage as last year's winner to present the Rookie of the Year Award. These were the nominations:

The winner was Shoshana Dzialoszynski of the Double Ds. As the drinks were flowing, nobody tried to pronounce her surname. Shosh is one of the most friendly and enthusiastic players in the League and fully deserves her success.

Next up, was the Most Improved Player of the Year Award. Paul Severn presented this award and these were the nominees:

The winner was Rhinos pitcher Eddy Verbeek, who led his team into the final and also impressed pitching at the Disco Ball Tournament in July. Well done Eddy.

Then it was onto the serious business of the MVP awards.

The female MVP was presented by last year’s winner Laura Thompson. These were the nominees:

Thanks to a season of great fielding at shortstop and dramatic slides, Jo Malisani emerged from a cloud of infield dust to win this hotly contested award. Well done Jo!

Next on stage was Craig Holmes (arriving standing, not sliding) to present the next award – Male MVP. Here were the nominees:

The winner was Jon Reynolds for his all-round brilliant season.

Next up was the League Member of the Year Award. Last year’s winner Sam Gibson arrived on stage to present this award and the tissues were at the ready in case anyone followed her Gwyneth Paltrow Oscars-style acceptance speech of last year. These were the nominees:

The ever popular and upbeat Jake Clarke won the award – leaving him even more hyped up than normal.

The final act was to bring the Hornets to the stage to collect their trophy and medals. To win two league titles back-to-back is a great achievement and they should be very proud. Unfortunately the presentation was interrupted by the Phantom of the Opera who rudely photobombed the big moment. He did look a little like Hedley Bevan though…


After the presentations the dancefloor opened and a great time was had by all. A special thanks to Social Secretary Cathy Ford who played a big part in making it all happen, and everyone else who worked so hard to make it a great night.

Although the outdoor season is now over and the nights are getting darker, softball continues at Radcliffe School Wolverton every Tuesday night – be there!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page